How to delete your Twitter account permanently

Here the instruction on getting away with murdering your Twitter account step by step.

Step 1:

Head over to Twitter.com and log in to your account (you can only delete accounts from the web, not from mobile devices).

Step 2:

Go to your account settings by clicking on your profile pic in the top-right corner and selecting from the pull-down menu. 

Step 3:

Click “Deactivate my account.” It’s written in tiny type the bottom of the page.

Step 4:

Click the Deactivate button. It will ask you to enter your password to verify that you truly want to commit Twitter-suicide. You do, so click it. And #boom, you are good to go. #Congrats!

Killing your Twitter-self is actually a very easy process. And there’s even a 30-day grace period if you have second thoughts about your twittercidal tendencies (12 months if you are verified). You can just sign back into your account within 30 days to reinstate it and it will be like nothing happened. However, if you don’t reinstate within that period, all your data will be permanently deleted from Twitter’s servers. 

Other Ways to Protect Your Privacy

In addition to deleting your Twitter account, you can take other steps to protect your privacy online when using social networks. The first step is awareness, and you should be aware of the following:

  • Information you post to social media is publicly visible, so think before you post.
  • Even if you manage your privacy settings, there are still privacy concerns “behind the scenes” as Twitter collects data on users.
  • Understand how your social media applications connect to other apps, and that data sharing may occur across programs.

To protect your privacy while using social networks, you can also do the following:

  • Use a VPN: A VPN encrypts your Internet connection, to keep your privacy and security protected when sending messages or personal communications.
  • Think before you share: information shared on social media is publicly visible, so remember it is visible to a large amount of people.
  • Read the privacy policy: Be sure to understand the privacy policy of the social network and adjust your settings accordingly, and be aware of how your data is being collected, used or sold.
  • Adjust your privacy settings: Set your privacy settings within applications to control how your information is shared and what is kept private.

As one of best VPN service providers, RitaVPN protects your privacy and social security online, get RitaVPN now! VPN download

If you’re also interested in deleting your Facebook account, click here.